Lebanon Businessnews News

Mohammad Choucair reelected with list
Additional eight members to be appointed by government
Share     Share on Facebook     Share on LinkedIn    
The list of Mohammad Choucair at the Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Agriculture in Beirut and Mount Lebanon (CCIA-BML) was elected with its 16 members, for a term of four years.

“Our victory sends a clear message that the economic bodies are unified. This unity is behind our strength to support the modernization, development, productivity, competitiveness, and to defend the national economy,” said Choucair.

The new board includes: Mohammad Lamaa, Gaby Tamer, Nabil Fahed, Wissam Ariss, Mahmoud Matar, Chakib Chehab, Rabih Frem, Saoussan Wazzan, Ahmad Hoteit, Joumana Chelala, Hicham Itani, Ismaïl Ali Ismaïl, Sarkis Bodakian, Khalil Dagher, and Hadi Nahas. The four latter members are new to the board. They replaced: Naji Mouzannar, Victor Najjarian, Zeinab Harb, and Tania Eid.

“The team will work with one hand in order to defend the interests of the private sector,” said Choucair. “Our ambition is to follow the globalization and upgrade the institutions in order to earn back our country that was the economic center of the region,” said Choucair.

The board of directors will be composed of 24 members, 16 were elected and eight will wait to be appointed by the government through the Ministry of Economy. Choucair said: “The battle has never been about winning the election, and it will not end after the announcement of results. The battle will end once we succeed in stopping the economic deterioration.”
Reported by Joelle Nassar
Date Posted: Jan 13, 2014
Share     Share on Facebook     Share on LinkedIn